# Indexing Society of Canada Annual General Meeting 2 June 2017, Montréal

*Members present:* Liese Achtzehner, Jason Begy, Kristen Braun, Susan L. Brown, JoAnne Burek, Linda Christian, Barbara Cuerden, Frances Curry, Margaret de Boer, Judy Dunlop, Heather Ebbs, Judi Gibbs, Elena Gwynne, Andrea Hatley, Christine Jacobs, Pierre Joyal, Sergey Lobachev, Christina MacDougall, Geneviève Mangerel, Mary Newberry, Anna Olivier, Alexandra Peace, Alicia Peres, Ronnie Seagren, François Trahan, Stephen Ullstrom, Gillian Watts, Vanessa Wells, Nancy Wills, Angela Wingfield

*Members present by proxy:* Daphne Davey, Audrey McLellan, Kendra Millis *Guests:* Maureen MacGlashan (SI), Sharon Rankin, Catherine Turner

## 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:14 p.m. by Margaret De Boer, President.

## 2. Selection of Secretary

Heather Ebbs agreed to serve as secretary for this meeting.

## 3. Review of Agenda and Call for Other Business

Item 7, Ewart-Daveluy Award, was added to the agenda and the subsequent numbering adjusted appropriately.

Moved (Susan Brown/Gillian Watts) to accept the agenda as amended. Carried.

# 4. Approval of Minutes of 2016 AGM

**Moved (Mary Newberry/Anna Olivier)** to accept the minutes of the 2016 AGM as written. **Carried.** 

# 5. Executive and Committee Reports

The executive and committee reports for 2016–2017 will be published in the summer issue of the *Bulletin*.

Margaret noted that we have tried a new promotion, thanks to Sergey Lobachev; we have paid for an advertisement in the program of the annual conference of the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences.

#### 6. Constitutional Revision

Heather Ebbs, chair of the Constitutional Revision Committee, presented the revised constitution (in both French and English) for ratification. An annotated version of the revision plus a description of the rationale had been circulated prior to the meeting. One further change had been made since that version was circulated: specifically, in Article 1b, the English was changed to read "The Society aspires to the working languages of the Society being English and French." and the French was changed to read "La Société désire que ses langues de travail soient le français et l'anglais."

**Moved (Heather Ebbs/François Trahan)** to accept the revisions to the Constitution as presented. **Carried unanimously.** 

Heather thanked the committee members—Andrea Hatley, François Trahan and Gillian Watts—for their work.

## 7. Ewart-Daveluy Award

Heather Ebbs, coordinator, announced that Judy Dunlop would be presented with the Ewart-Daveluy Award for Indexing Excellence at the awards banquet on 2 June 2017 for her index to *One Child Reading: My Auto-Bibliography*, by Margaret Mackey, published by the University of Alberta Press. Heather extended congratulations to Judy and thanks to this year's judges (herself, Noeline Bridge and Mary Newberry) and encouraged all members to consider submitting their work for future awards.

#### 8. Budget 2017

A budget will be circulated to the membership in the coming weeks.

## 9. New Business

**a.** *Conference 2018:* No location has yet been identified. The executive will be looking at past conference attendance numbers to help determine where the 2018 conference might be held. Alexandra Peace, chair of this year's conference, encouraged interested members to volunteer for next year's committee, as all members on this year's committee found it tremendously fun and rewarding.

# 10. Executive Elections (2017–2019)

With thanks to Mary Newberry for developing a slate of candidates, Margaret de Boer conducted the executive elections The following candidates were acclaimed:

President: Margaret de Boer Vice President: Alexandra Peace Treasurer: Andrea Hatley Membership Secretary: Frances Robinson Editor of The Bulletin: Sergey Lobachev Communications Director: JoAnne Burek Website Administrator: Siusan Moffat British Columbia Regional Director: Elena Gwynne Central Canada Regional Director: Pierre Joyal Eastern Canada Regional Director: Susan Brown Prairies Regional Director: Stephen Ullstrom

In addition to the elected directors, the executive includes two non-elected positions: Mary Newberry is Past President (a voting position on the executive) and is also the new International Liaison (an appointed, non-voting position).

#### 10. Bouquets

- **a.** *Certificates of recognition:* The strength of a non-profit organization may be found with its volunteers. ISC/SCI annually awards certificates as a way of recognizing some of the hard-working people in our society. This year four members were recognized for their hard work and dedication: François Trahan, Sergey Lobachev, Stephen Ullstrom and Heather Ebbs.
- **b.** *Tamarack award:* Annually, one individual is chosen by the president to receive this award for a high level of service to the society. This year, the award was presented at the awards banquet to JoAnne Burek for her numerous and unhesitating contributions to the society.
- **c.** *Other bouquets:* Margaret De Boer thanked the numerous volunteers who have contributed to the society over the past year:

Executive (All executive members are also volunteers on many committees and do various tasks, but each person is named only once in this long list of bouquets): John Barkwell, JoAnne Burek, Margaret de Boer, Heather Ebbs, Elena Gwynne, Andrea Hatley, Jennifer Hedges, Sergey Lobachev, Siusan Moffat, Mary Newberry, Alexandra Peace, Frances Robinson, François Trahan, Steven Ullstrom

Bulletin board: Anna Olivier, Sylvia Siemens, Gillian Watts

*Committees and other important work:* Jason Begy, Chris Blackburn, Kristen Braun, Noeline Bridge, Susan Brown, Barbara Cuerden, Judi Gibbs, Boyd Holmes, Christine Jacobs, Fazeela Jiwa, Pierre Joyal, Sergey Lobachev, Christina MacDougall, Geneviève Mangerel, Ruth Pincoe, Trine Schioldan, Ronnie Seagren, Olga Sushinksy, Alan Walker, Vanessa Wells, Angela Wingfield

Conference volunteers, non-members: Jie Shen, Cathie Turner

# 12. Adjournment

Moved (Angela Wingfield) to adjourn at 1:38 pm.