# Indexing Society of Canada Annual General Meeting 18 June 2016, Chicago, IL

*Members present:* John Barkwell, JoAnne Burek, Barbara Cuerden, Margaret De Boer, Heather Ebbs, Anne Godlewski, Marnie Lamb, Sergey Lobachev, Siusan Moffat, Mary Newberry, Anna Olivier, Alexandra Peace, Martine Rocheleau, François Trahan, Stephen Ullstrom, Vanessa Wells

**By proxy:** Andrea Hatley, Ruth Pincoe

Guests: Maureen MacGlashan

#### 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 10:40 by Margaret De Boer, President.

## 2. Selection of Secretary

Heather Ebbs agreed to serve as secretary for this meeting.

### 3. Review of Agenda and Call for Other Business

The agenda for this meeting was reviewed.

**Moved (Martine Rocheleau/Sergey Lobachev)** to accept the agenda as presented. **Carried.** 

## 4. Approval of Minutes of 2015 AGM

**Moved (Mary Newberry/Anna Olivier)** to accept the minutes of the 2015 AGM as written. **Carried.** 

### 5. Welcome of International Representatives

Maureen MacGlashan of the Society of Indexers expressed her pleasure at attending an annual meeting of ISC/SCI.

Speaking as editor of *The Indexer*, Maureen noted her great appreciation that we continue to retain *The Indexer* as a member benefit, not just because we subscribe to and read the journal, but also because of the significant number of Canadian contributions. She is particularly pleased with the theoretical articles she receives from Canadians.

Speaking as SI representative, Maureen noted that SI has the same concerns as other societies, such as retaining members and keeping financially sound. On both fronts, they are currently in good standing, as the membership has stayed level this year and they have a very good treasurer. SI has looked into a closer relationship with the Society for Editors and Proofreaders; although a formal union will not be happening right now, they will be thickening the relationship where they have shared interests (e.g., making it possible for members to attend each other's local meetings, etc.). SI is also revising its website.

# 6. Executive and Committee Reports

The executive and committee reports for 2015–2016 will be published in the summer issue of the *Bulletin*.

The executive is in the process of working on a vision and mission statement.

## 7. Ewart-Daveluy Award

Heather Ebbs, coordinator, announced that Mary Newberry was presented with the Ewart-Daveluy Award for Indexing Excellence at the awards banquet on 17 June 2016 for her index to *The Letterbooks of John Evelyn, volumes 1 and 2,* edited by Douglas D.C. Chambers and David Galbraith and published by University of Toronto Press. Heather extended congratulations to Mary and thanks to this year's judges (herself, Ruth Pincoe and Noeline Bridge) and encouraged all members to consider submitting their work for future awards.

## 8. Budget and Finances 2016–2017

Sergey Lobachev, Treasurer, noted that our budget projects an income decrease of \$2,000 for this coming year because of declining membership. However, we are still in a financially sound position, with healthy reserves.

An executive committee is looking at ways to increase traffic to Find an Indexer on the website and other publicity initiatives. If members have ideas for that or for other things they would like the society to consider, please contact any member of the executive.

### 9. New Business

- **a.** *Conference 2017:* The 2017 conference and AGM are planned to be held in Montreal, probably on or about the weekend of 3 June.
- **b.** *Executive 2015–2017:* This is not an election year. The executive elected at the 2016 AGM continues, with one exception: Co-president Jennifer Hedges had to step down. Great thanks were expressed to Jennifer for the tremendous amount of valuable work, energy and ideas she has contributed to ISC/SCI over the years.

President: Margaret de Boer Vice President: François Trahan Treasurer: Sergey Lobachev Membership: Frances Robinson

Bulletin: Andrea Hatley

Website Administrator: Stephen Ullstrom Member at Large—Publicity: John Barkwell British Columbia Region: Elena Gwynne Central Canada Region: Siusan Moffat Eastern Canada Region: Alexandra Peace

Prairies and Northern Canada Region: JoAnne Burek

In addition to the elected executive, there are two non-elected positions: Mary Newberry is Past President (a voting position on the executive) and Heather Ebbs is International Liaison (an appointed, non-voting position).

**c.** *Constitution:* Work on the revision and updating of the constitution continues. It is hoped to have a final draft approved by the executive this fall, after which it will be circulated to the members for review. Committee members: Heather Ebbs, Gillian Watts, François Trahan, Andrea Hatley.

- **d.** *Ad hoc Committee on ISC/SCI Initiatives:* The work of this committee (chair: JoAnne Burek) has been rolled over to publicity planning and discussion under the aegis of the Member-at-Large—Publicity. Therefore, at the executive meeting on 16 June, this committee was dissolved.
- **e.** Ad hoc Committee on ISC/SCI Conference Surplus Funds: Conference subsidies were awarded to four members: Anne Godlewski, Marnie Lamb, Anna Olivier and Vanessa Wells. Committee members: Andrea Hatley, Alex Peace, JoAnne Burke, Margaret de Boer.

## 10. Bouquets

- **a.** *Certificates of recognition:* The strength of a non-profit organization may be found with its volunteers. ISC/SCI annually awards certificates as a way of recognizing some of the hard-working people in our society. This year four members were recognized for their hard work and dedication: Alex Peace, for her exuberance and energy to get things done out East and her ability to think outside the box; Andrea Hatley, for her dedication, fresh creativity and expertise in the production of the *Bulletin*; Heather Ebbs, for her encyclopædic knowledge and kindness; Siusan Moffat, for her expertise in organizing informative Toronto-area indexer meetings.
- **b.** *Tamarack award:* Annually, one individual is chosen by the president(s) to receive this award for a high level of service to the society. This year, the award was presented to Mary Newberry for her many years of tremendous service in a variety of capacities.
- **c.** *Other bouquets:* Margaret De Boer thanked the numerous volunteers for the conference planning and on-the-ground help:

2016 conference committee: Mary Newberry, François Trahan

2015–2016 volunteers—committees: Joanne Burek, Margaret de Boer, Heather Ebbs, Andrea Hatley, Jennifer Hedges, Alex Peace, Ruth Pincoe, Noeline Bridge, Gillian Watts, François Trahan

2015–2016 volunteers—executive: John Barkwell, JoAnne Burek, Margaret de Boer, Heather Ebbs, Elena Gwynne, Andrea Hatley, Jennifer Hedges, Sergey Lobachev, Siusan Moffat, Mary Newberry, Alexandra Peace, Frances Robinson, François Trahan, Steven Ullstrom

2015–2016 volunteers—general and miscellaneous: Gillian Watts (bookkeeping), Michèle Hudon (translation), Anna Olivier (translation), Louise St-André (translation), Angela Winfield (web stats), Pierre Joyal (meeting presentation), Ruth Pincoe (meeting presentation), Clive Pyne (meeting presentation)

2015–2016 volunteers—Bulletin: JoAnne Burek, Boyd Holmes, Sylvia Siemens, François Trahan, Gillian Watts

### 12. Adjournment

Moved (Mary Newberry/François Trahan) to adjourn at 11:20.